Eric Pazdziora – Reviews and Testimonials

 

Some good things that some kind people have said about my writing and music:

Move over, Andrew Lloyd-Webber.

No. Really. Please move over, Mr. Webber.

– Zay N. Smith, Chicago Sun-Times, May 2006

This arrangement of the well-known French carol “Angels We Have Heard on High” is a fresh, exciting, and well-crafted piece, standing apart in its unique harmonic progressions and complex meter changes. It is a fairly short a cappella piece, beginning with women’s voices in G major. The 7/8 meter alone leads to the piece having a lively spirit; taking the brisk tempo marking (quarter note equals 140) only adds to its exciting character. […] This verse also includes some surprising – and wonderful – shifts in tonality. Added to the many asymmetric meters and meter changes, the tonal shifts keep one waiting in anticipation for what will happen next. The piece concludes exuberantly and does not leave the listener disappointed.

—Pastoral Music, vol. 36, no. 5. Review of “Angels We Have Heard on High” (GIA, G-7603), September 2012, p. 37.

What should become an “instant classic” is his match of Charles Wesley’s lyrics for “And Can It Be” with the tune of ‘The Wexford Carol’ from Ireland.

Global Christian Worship, July 2015

Loved singing these [Canticles for the Holy Innocents]. During the third movement in particular, it felt like I could see and feel the whole universe. The “et perducant te/et cum Lazaro” sections are the meaning of life.

—Jessica M. Bush, Soprano, April 2016

[Mick McGuire] is a jaunty Irish tune set with interweaving lines. Most of this setting is just 2 parts, but there are spots where it expands to 3 and 4 parts. Humorous text with lots of “diddley-dowdle” nonsense.

—Colorado ACDA Newsletter, “Repertoire Suggestions,” Fall 2010

Outstanding, Breathtaking, Refreshing. (Five stars) A must-have. A haunting, beautiful, transcendent, and sacred worship experience. This is everything a worship album should be, really–with all the professionalism of a studio recording, but the dynamism and freshness of a live performance. Eric Pazdziora has neatly balanced hymn-settings with original compositions; his arrangements bring the most out of the songs. Solid, virtuoso background musicians enrich the performances. Each song is itself a remarkable encounter, a delight in the presence of Jesus.

The album feels at once like you’ve known it all your life and like you’re discovering for the first time. Musical preference, or ‘style,’ becomes a non-issue; it is merely worship that can call anyone in. It draws your heart into contemplation and prayer. Even if–like myself, to be honest–you’ve no great taste for Christian music, this is an album to get. It will shatter your expectations of what a worship album can be, and will bring you into a new encounter of G-d and His Spirit. I look forward eagerly to hear Eric’s future work; meanwhile, I’ll be wearing out this album with listening.

—Mr. Pond, review of “New Creation” on Amazon.com, February 2011

Everything Eric writes just makes you want to take a deep breath of joy.

—Hillary McFarland, QuiveringDaughters.com, March 2011

This new work of Eric Pazdziora’s gave me chills.

—Jenna St. Hilaire, February 2011

What I like about your messages is that they strike very deep yet are written with such a light spirit that my children have enjoyed several of your pieces.

—Victoria,  September 2010

I’m going to read this again tomorrow… i was going to be alone and was thinking of ways to sedate myself if Jesus didn’t show up but this is worth the shot.

—Heidi, May 2010

This is probably the most profoundly deep doctrinal statement we are likely to encounter in all of our meetings, discussions and debates. After reading How Does Jesus Love You? I have to agree with Jeff’s assessment. Rarely do I read something with which I so fully and totally agree. The article represents the core and very essence of my theological construct. I hope you enjoy it as much as I.

—Wade Burleson, May 2010

you suck! like who cares that kind of msic suks

—Anonymous